Or just being a careless idiot in general.
Here is the tale of woe.
The mortgage payment goes out on 8/1 except when doing bills and being stupid/careless/completely incompetent. When it actually goes out on 7/13 there is a world of NSF (Non Sufficient Funds) charges. How this happened I am not real clear about. I am the only one who does this online thing.
My day started off and I am perusing the email and I see an overdraft notice. Hmmm. We should have at least 400 dollars in there as of last night. So I opened email and there is not a single detail. That figures.
I log onto bill pay. This is when I see, in fact, that I am $1,050. 53 in the red. This is where the first real, in a long series, of WTF statements occurred. At this time I feel the top of my head splitting at the seams exposing a swollen bloody skull.
As I look at the statement through a blood red rage I see the mortgage payment that was suppose to hit on 8/1 has, in fact hit on 7/13. As I feel my blood pressure reach 145/90 and an ocean of acid floods into my stomach completely dissolving everything I had for breakfast and boiling the glass of water I had just imbibed.
After a minute it hit me that there was also $180 dollars in NSF fees. After remembering that I need to start breathing again before I end up on the floor looking completely silly wondering what happened.
I called Bill Pay. They said I needed to call the Mortgage Company. I call the mortgage company and they said that it will take 7 to 10 day to get a refund when, I have proven that the money has left my account. Damn.
So I called my Wife. She never gets rattled. She was cool and calm while I was less than rational and stable. I tend to talk loud in money losing situations. She listened quietly and then she said she would call the bank. This was the longest five minutes of my life.
She called back and dryly stated it was vastly important that we get to the bank As Soon As Possible because there is a 35 dollar fee for everything in the account pending. There was about 7 more of them.
So we rushed to the bank and performed some damage control with transfers and deposits.
Now I will get to wait for about ten days to see how things shake out.
To give the bank their due they canceled $72 dollars of the $180 so far. I hope they can cut me a break since this was the first time I have done this since I have been using online banking (Yeah I am dreaming). It has been over 5 years with no errors on my part. The branch manager is on vacation until Monday. So I have plenty of time to get my head out of my ass by then and explain how it happen so I can be lectured about Auto Bill Pay.
On being a Dumb Ass
Info Post


0 comments:
Post a Comment